Ben Randle


Randle to direct in 2nd annual SF One-Minute Play Festival

The Second-Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival directed by Jessica Heidt, Jon Lowe, Jill MacLean, Evren Odcikin, Christine Young, and Ben Randle will be held December 17th and 18th at Thick House, as a presentation of Playwrights Foundation and The New York One-Minute Play Festival.


Press notes describe the festival as "80 plays, 30 actors, 5 directors, 1 minute".

Randle will direct a series that includes work by Steve Yockey, Lauren Gunderson, Eugenie Chan, Tim Bauer, Christopher Chen, Kate E. Ryan, Ignacio Zulueta, Joan Holden, Aaron Loeb, and Geetha Reddy.

The full 2011 roster of Playwrights whose work will be featured in the festival are Trevor Allen, Crish Barth, Tim Bauer, Erin M. Bregman, Eugenie Chan, Christopher Chen, Anthony Clarvoe, Megan Cohen, Bennett Fisher, Elizabeth Gjelten, Philip Kan Gotanda, Garret Jon Groenveld, Lauren Gunderson, Daniel Heath, Joan Holden, Robert Henry Johnson, Aaron Loeb, Jonathan Luskin, Patricia Milton, Cherrie Moraga, Marisela Treviño Orta, Evelyn Jean Pine, Kenn Rabin, Geetha Reddy, Kate E. Ryan, Andrew Saito, Steven M. Salzman, Marissa Skudlarek, Michael Gene Sullivan, Tom Swift, Brian Thorstenson, Steve Yockey & Ignacio Zulueta.

The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by director/dramaturg Dominic D’Andrea, working in partnership with institutional theatres and collectives across the country who share playwright or community-specific missions. OMPF creates local playwright-focused community events, using a specific playmaking process, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing the culture of playwrights of different age, gender, race culture, and points of career. OMPF attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

OMPF has partnered with theaters in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Atlanta, South Florida, Boston, and New York, where it is now an annual tradition.

Since 2007, OMPF has commissioned and produced close to 1,000 new one-minute plays by close to 300 playwrights using a specific playmaking methodology and process developed for this work.*

Notable OMPF Alumni include: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Rajiv Joseph, Kristoffer Diaz, Lisa Loomer, Donald Margulies, Jason Grote, Mike Daisey, Erik Ehn, Michael John Garces, Rachel Axler, Elizabeth Meriwether, Migdalia Cruz, Philip Kan Gotanda,Qui Nguyen, Craig Lucas, Michael Hollinger, and others.

For more information, visit