Ben Randle


One-Minute Play Festival Returns

Playwrights Foundation and The New York One-Minute Play Festival present the Third-Annual San Francisco One-Minute Play Festival December 15th and 16th at The Thick House Theater, in San Francisco.


Press notes describe the festival as "70 plays, 70 minutes".

Directors for this year's festival are Ben Randle, Paul Cello, Desdemona Chiang, Jill MacLean, Susannah Martin, Amy Clare Tasker, and Dawn Monique Williams.

The full 2012 roster of Playwrights whose work will be featured in the festival are Joan Holden, Chris Chen, Anthony Clarvoe, Lauren Gunderson, Aaron Loeb, Chinaka Hodge, J.C. Lee, Eugenie Chan, Trevor Allen, Tim Bauer, William Bivins, Erin M. Bregman, Victoria Chong Der, Megan Cohen, Bennett Fisher, Elizabeth Gjelten, Garret Jon Groenveld, Daniel Heath, Robert Henry Johnson, Lynne Kaufman, Jeffrey Lo, Jonathan Luskin, Katie May, Patricia Milton, Marisela Treviño Orta, David Perez, Evelyn Jean Pine, Kenn Rabin, Geetha Reddy, Kate E. Ryan, Steven M. Salzman, Marissa Skudlarek, Jonathan Spector, Aimee Suzara, Brian Thorstenson, Arisa White, Kim Yaged, & Ignacio Zulueta.

Press Notes about this year's festival note, "following sold-out performances in the past two seasons, this year’s festival will be the largest, most inclusive, and most ambitious collaboration between PF and OMPF to date." The Festival also serves as a benefit for both organizations.

The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by director/dramaturg Dominic D’Andrea, working in partnership with institutional theatres and collectives across the country who share playwright or community-specific missions. OMPF creates local playwright-focused community events, using a specific playmaking process, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing the culture of playwrights of different age, gender, race culture, and points of career. OMPF attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

OMPF has partnered with theaters in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Atlanta, South Florida, Boston, and New York, where it is now an annual tradition.

Since 2007, OMPF has commissioned and produced close to 1,000 new one-minute plays by close to 300 playwrights using a specific playmaking methodology and process developed for this work.*

Notable OMPF Alumni include: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Rajiv Joseph, Kristoffer Diaz, Lisa Loomer, Donald Margulies, Jason Grote, Mike Daisey, Erik Ehn, Michael John Garces, Rachel Axler, Elizabeth Meriwether, Migdalia Cruz, Philip Kan Gotanda,Qui Nguyen, Craig Lucas, Michael Hollinger, and others.

Performances are Saturday, December 15 at 8pm, and Sunday, December 16th at 3pm and 8pm. The Thick House Theater is located at 1695 18th Street, SF on Potrero Hill.

For more information, visit